On Repeat: Thunder Clatter

Guys, this is not a drill.

It’s not very often that I am a semi-kind-of-but-not-really-one-of-the-early-listeners of a musical group before they completely blow up, but I think I might be this time. And I’m very excited about it.

I was driving somewhere with the Hubbster the other day, and we were listening to the radio–so obviously this song is already in fairly wide circulation, but still. Give me this moment. A song came on, and he turned the volume up. He said that the first time he heard it he thought it was weird, but after hearing it a few times he loved it. I listened for a few measures, then promptly told him he was insane for not liking it the first time. It was amazing! After he made some hilarious attempts at trying to remember what it was called (Wild something? Wild Thunder? Something wild?), the info scroller started working and told us that the song was called ‘Thunder Clatter” by Wild Cub.

I purchased the song on my phone immediately for the shockingly low price of 69 cents on iTunes. Side note: When did every song go up to $1.29? I think 99 cents was a perfectly reasonable price for a song and now they are gouging me. It’s a 30% increase! But I digress. Once “Thunder Clatter” had downloaded, I started previewing the album, and bought the whole thing because it was only $8 total–including “Thunder Clatter.” What a deal!

And I can’t stop listening to it.

Over the past few years, I’ve definitely become a fan of more layered, complex music (see: Mumford & Sons and Of Monsters & Men) and Wild Cub’s ‘Youth’ is in that same vein. There’s a lot of percussion, there’s some synthesizer action, soft melodies and interesting rhythms–pretty much the works. But it balances so well that it just sucks you in. It’s like the soundtrack to a current indie movie that takes place in the 80’s.

That’s a great description, right? I totally tweeted that the other day, and then Wild Cub favorited it. Yeah. Whaddup.

What do you think?

