Coffee of the Day

iced triple grande hazelnut macchiato, with 1 pump mocha
iced triple grande hazelnut macchiato, with 1 pump mocha

Today, we celebrate the joy that is free coffee day with something a little special: Jenny’s Nutella Macchiato.

“Just what is Jenny’s Nutella Macchiato?” you might ask. Well, for those of you who can’t read a Starbucks cup, allow me to take you on a journey. It’s a short journey, don’t worry. Unless I get sidetracked, which I never do. Seriously, it’s just not in my personality. Whenever I start a project, I get really focused, and I don’t stop until I complete it. Like a couple months ago when I bought a ukulele, and I was like I’m going to teach myself to play the ukulele and it will be fun and I can start writing silly little songs and performing them in sketches with my improv friends. I have definitely played that ukulele more than once and did not instead start writing a spec script for The Mindy Project  that I did not finish. Because I am a very focused and determined person. I see things through, and I never get distracted. That’s just me.

Ummmmmm. Right. Coffee.

So, a while back, Starbucks added the Hazlenut Macchiato to its menu. What it is, is hazelnut syrup, milk, espresso shots (on top of the milk, which is the macchiato part) and a hazlenut drizzle. So really, except for the hazelnut drizzle on top, it was something you could always order and Starbucks in no way reinvented the wheel with this one. But I digress… I’ve never really been a straight up hazelnut fan, but the Hubbster was super in love with this drink. I tried it, was unimpressed, and went about my life.

But recently, I had an epiphany: see while I am not a huge hazelnut fan, I am a huge Nutella fan. I’m sure many of you share my obsession and see where I’m going with this. Nutella is a hazelnut and cocoa spread, so I thought if maybe I added a little cocoa in the form of mocha syrup, the hazelnut macchiato might be something to write home about. And it is. Not too sweet, but very flavorful and 100% delicious. Go get one. It’s Friday, you deserve it.

What do you think?

