The Desire To Do Nothing

This polar bear totally gets me.

Yeah. It’s that time again.

The time where I apologize profusely to anyone reading because I haven’t blogged in… a month. Over a month. Crap. My last post was for my anniversary. Shit, that’s a month and 12 days!

I fail at life.

Actually, I’m awesome at life.

I’m just so awesome at life lately that I’ve had very little downtime. And all the downtime I have, I just want to spend laying on Edna (my couch) and watching Netflix with the Hubbster. Speaking of Netflix, if you live under a rock and didn’t know this: new Arrested Development episodes came out this weekend. And they. are. spectacular. For realz. We’re only through 11 of the 15 episodes, but they just keep getting better and better as more of the interwoven storylines are revealed. Mitch Hurwitz is a genius, and I tip my hat to him.

In other exciting news, most of my brain for the past 2 1/2 months has been taken up with house hunting. And house finding. And house falling-in-love-with. And house purchasing, even though house is old and needs a lot of house love. We are in the final stages of getting our loan approved, and it’s been insane–mostly because it’s a foreclosure. There are numerous extra hoops that you have to go through. Not to mention a bank isn’t as flexible as a regular homeowner, so it’s a much more rigid process on top of the hoops.

But I don’t care. Because I love house. She’s pretty and I want to live in her for a very long time. And re-do the kitchen. And take a bulldozer to the overgrown backyard. And fix up the basement… and the upstairs bathroom… and re-finish the floors… and a whole host of other things. The Hubbster and I are embarking on years of manual labor and being house poor in the Chicago suburbs, exactly 1 mile away from the house that I grew up in. Yep. I’m that person.

I’m also the person who lays awake at night trying to figure out just where I want to put the kitchen sink, and if I steal space from the 3rd bedroom closet, will I have enough room to put in a double vanity? and what kind of light fixture would look best in the stairway, and a gagillion other things that I don’t need to be worried about yet.

That’s the main reason I haven’t blogged. All of my spare creative energy is going toward this house, whether I want it to or not. And when I can turn my brain off, all I want to do is lay down. Like that polar bear. He gets me.

On the bright side, I’ve been working on my novel. I got really bad writer’s block on it for about a week, so I started writing an episode of Doctor Who, starring me as the new companion. Well, not real me. But a character close to myself who I could potentially play should Steven Moffat ever receive my letter. It helped a lot actually. My mom says I should start journaling about the house process for a book. I think it’s a good plan, I just need to start doing it before I forget about all these emotions. They are myriad. I’m also really enjoying my Improv classes. I love the people in it, and I’m really discovering a lot about myself as a performer. I just wish I had started all of this discovery a lot sooner.

Hm, just re-read what I have so far. So this is what happens when I don’t blog for a month? I get all deep and rambly? Good to know, good to know… I’ll try to refrain from doing this too much. Please expect a post tomorrow on a lighter topic–i.e. coffee, or how frizzy my hair gets when it’s humid, or my addiction to Argan oil.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a date with Edna and the Bluths.

What do you think?

