Coffee of the Day

skim vanilla spice latte
skim vanilla spice latte

Oh. My. Goodness.

So Starbucks rolled out a new flavor theme recently: Vanilla Spice. They have a vanilla spice coffee and a vanilla spice latte. Naturally, this seemed like something up my alley, but I had yet to try it. Until today. And it is delicious. Like seriously delicious, I’m really surprised at how truly delicious it is. It’s vanilla-y, but not too sweet, and the spices give it a really nice zing. And it reminds me of something…

Sandbuckles!!!! Holy crap that’s it!

Sorry, I had to interrupt myself. Since I started sipping it, I recognized the smell, but couldn’t place it. It’s cardamom! Phew. Glad I got that figured out. This drink smells just like some Christmas cookies my mom makes called sandbuckles. Sandbakkles? I really have no idea how to spell them, but they’re a Norwegian cookie that my grandmother used to make. I don’t really know how to describe the taste… They’re kind of like a butter cookie but with spices, the main one being cardamom!

If you’d like to find out what those cookies taste like, go get a vanilla spice latte. Or even if you don’t care about Norwegian cookies, go get one anyway, because it’s yummy. It’s definitely going into my regular rotation.

2 thoughts on “Coffee of the Day

  1. Hey there, I’ve enjoyed your blog! I am a starbucks girl in America, but now that I’m spending time in Ireland (follow me at pattiobrien.wordpress.com if you like) I’ve been getting really good coffee elsewhere. However, with this new information reg: vanilla and cardamom, I will have to duck into the Starbucks in Dublin and try it out!

    Like

What do you think?

