Coffee of the Day

triple grande ristretto pumpkin spice latte

I’m back, baby!

That’s right. After a much too long absence due to work and life events, I am pleased to say that you can expect at least one annoying email popping up every day, letting you know that I have posted something hilarious and brilliant to the interewebs. Unless you aren’t subscribed to my blog and have just stumbled upon it accidentally. But if that’s the case, please feel free to click that button over there to the right so you get the pretty emails. No, the other one.

Thanks! You won’t regret it 😉

So. Let’s discuss what’s been going on in my life. Because it’s a lot.

That whole election thing happened. No big deal, right? Except very big deal. And it also represents the end of a very hectic cycle at my place of business. We ended it with a bang, aka a giant party that was off the heezy. Is heezy still a thing? And did I spell it right? I don’t know what the kids are saying these days, but I’m gonna say heezy, and spell it h-e-e-z-y. Cool? Cool.

Post party (otherwise known as 2 days later), I was whisked away to Chicago, aka the Windy City, where the Hubbster was waiting for me because he had already been here for a week. Fun fact: It’s not called the Windy City because it’s windy. Seriously. It’s because of blowhard politicians. And after spending weeks refuting that misconception to everyone, I get here and immediately say to the Hubbster, “Why is it so effing windy?!” Yeah. For some reason it was super windy this weekend. What can ya do.

I’m still technically working for my company’s DC office, but from Chicago.   Isn’t that nice? I think so. I took the ‘L’ all by myself to the new office like a big girl this morning. Even though I grew up in the suburbs, I had never actually taken the L by myself before. Weird, right? It’s really not much different than the metro, except I don’t lose cell service by going underground, and they don’t charge different rates depending on what stops you get on/off at.

Yeah. I’m at work today if you didn’t get that. I didn’t even get a day off to acclimate. Right back to the grind for Jenny!

But let’s get to the really important part, and why you’re all here: My coffee.

It’s a triple grande pumpkin spice latte with ristretto shots. They’re shorter and less bitter than the regular shots. Apparently that’s what Alex used to put in my drink all the time, and that’s one of the things that made it so good. I say one of, because this isn’t an Alex caliber beverage. I am doomed to a life of coffee mediocrity without him. This also doesn’t have my name or a smiley face on it, because the baristas at the Michigan & Lake Starbucks didn’t ask my name and apparently don’t understand how awesome I am. Oh well. At least I get Caribou whenever I’m in the ‘burbs with my Madre!

9 thoughts on “Coffee of the Day

  1. Homecomings are always nice. Though I was but a wee lad when I left Chicago for New Jersey; I still remember the city very fondly. I spent a few days there when I was still a lad (but less wee) but haven’t been back since. One of these days though I will pack my wife into the car and we will make the 14-16 hour drive out to the city where I was born.

    Like

    1. Haha yes, it can leave quite an impression on even a “wee lad.” You should definitely make the trip out here again–it’s beautiful even in winter. I’m sure your wife will love it!!

      Like

      1. I’m in China, and I’m lucky they have peppermint and white chocolate and select stores only. Pumpkin never made it here 😦 I’ll have to wait for next year, and then I’ll probably gain 10 pounds making up for the previous two years without!

        Like

What do you think?

