“A quarter of a century–Makes a girl think”

Anybody know what movie that quote is from? Bueller? Bueller? (No, it’s not Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, that’s just an appropriate comment when the imaginary people I talk to through the internets don’t answer me).

I’ll just tell you. It’s from one of my favorite movies, Some Like It Hot. If you’ve never seen it, I urge you to check it out. No, what’s a stronger word for urge? Highly recommend? Demand? I demand you see it! That sounds mean… Just watch it. It’s numero uno on AFI’s 100 Years… 100 Laughs list, and is a fantastic gangster/musical comedy starring Jack Lemmon, Tony Curtis and Marilyn Monroe. Jack & Tony accidentally witness the St. Valentine’s Day Massacre in Chicago, and have to go on the run from ‘Spats Colombo’ (aka Al Capone). To escape the city, they decide to pretend to be women and join an all-girls band that’s on its way to Florida for a gig. Awesome already, right? In that band, is Marilyn Monroe, who they can’t help falling in love with. I won’t spoil the plot, but needless to say, hilarity ensues. At one point while talking to Tony Curtis (aka Joe, aka Josephine), Marilyn shoots out this little gem:

“You know I’m gonna be 25 in June. That’s a quarter of a century. Makes a girl think.”

Quotes from that movie have always been inside jokes for my family. This one especially, because it’s cued up basically anytime the number 25 is mentioned. That’s been happening a lot more for me lately, because I’m turning 25 tomorrow. Ugh. This didn’t used to freak me out at all. I was perfectly fine with it, even welcomed it. I thought ‘Well, I’ve got a good job, I’m living in DC, I’m married to a man who is (in my humble opinion) ridiculously amazing and way too good to me, and I’m an all around happy and healthy person’. Then I went to the dentist and eye doctor, and I wasn’t so ok with the whole turning a quarter of a century thing. Random, right? Don’t worry. It will all make sense.

First, my dentist commented on how much plaque build-up was on my teeth (ew). Now, I love my dentist. She’s actually lived next door to my parents for my entire life. I called her “aunt” when I was little, she came to my wedding, the whole 9 yards. But as she’s commenting on the plaque, she also tells me that increased build up comes with age. How rude, right?  But apparently my teeth are aware that I’ve lived for almost 25 full years, and apparently they’re angry about it.

Then at the eye doctor later that day (I’m efficient with my healthcare visits) the assistant who did all my preliminary tests was saying Oh, we’re the same age! and Aren’t you freaked out about turning 25? I’m an absolute wreck. Well, no, thank you, I’m not a wreck. Should I be a wreck? I never really thought about it. And then I had my actual exam and found out that my prescription almost doubled. Granted, I was only -1 before. But still! They hadn’t gotten worse since I started wearing glasses 7 years ago, and all of a sudden my prescription doubles the same year that I turn 25?!

Coincidence? I think not. My eyes are also painfully aware that I’m starting my quick descent into old age.

To sum up: Tomorrow I will be a quarter of a century. And thinking. And starting on Sunday, I will be closer to 30 than 20.

Piddle.

9 thoughts on ““A quarter of a century–Makes a girl think”

      1. You are at that amazing point in your life where the concrete is still mixing and yet to be poured.

        Enjoy the heck out of life, because it takes a jackhammer anda dump truck to get free once it sets.

        Like

  1. Firstly, happy birthday!!!! It’s funny you have that quote; mine has always been “Honey, by the age of 23 all you have to be is yourself” from Reality Bites. It got me through a pretty shit year last year.

    I will be joining you in the realm of official mid-twenties in 6 months and while the number itself doesn’t freak me out, life in general does. I discovered after 5 months of not dyeing my hair due to backpacking that I am officially going grey. Yikes.

    I think it’s normal to have these moments. But as you said you have accomplished a lot (and I have met many people younger than you that will most certainly have had more plaque than you).

    Like

  2. I’ve been 25 for 9 months now. It is strange how much older I feel. It takes a week to recover from an all nighter (not just a day, like in college) I’m always sore for no reason. I have no kind words for you.

    Like

  3. I don’t know whether it’s just me or if everyone else experiencing issues with your website.

    It appears like some of the written text within your posts are running off the screen.
    Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them
    as well? This might be a issue with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Kudos

    Like

  4. Hey there Yahoo performs good in my situation yet your site
    is loading steadily which took close to one minute to successfully
    load up, I am not sure whether or not it’s my very own issue
    or maybe your site problems. Anyways, Thanks for placing an incredibly awesome articles.

    I assume this has been useful to lots of individuals who came here.
    I should point out that you actually have done
    wonderful job with this plus hope to find much more awesome
    content through you. I have got you book-marked to see new stuff you post.

    Like

  5. Greetings I am not sure if it is me or your blog but it’s starting undoubtedly slowly for me personally, it took me like a few moments to finally load up still ,
    twitter works perfectly . Well, Thanks for placing such a excellent blog post.

    I guess this has already been necessary to many people .
    This is without a doubt terrific everything
    that you have implemented and wish to see even more awesome content from your site.
    Right after checking out your post, I’ve book marked your web site.

    Like

What do you think?

