Soft Pumpkin Cookies

Best. Recipe. Ever.

I think it’s very clear now that I’m ready for fall.

Right after I had my covert pumpkin spice latte the other day, I decided I wanted to make pumpkin cookies this week. Plus the Hubbster’s in Seattle, so I need things to occupy my evenings besides sitting on Edna (my couch) and watching ’90s movies. Not that that isn’t a good use of my time, because it is. It’s just that variety is the spice of life, and if I keep watching Freddie Prinze Jr. movies I may start wearing ill-fitting pants, butterfly clips and brown lipstick, not realizing that those were all fads that should stay deep in the past, ya know?

I’ve gotten off topic…

Right. Pumpkins.

Since I love you all so much, I wanted to share my pumpkin cookie recipe with you. Though I can’t take credit for it. I found it a year ago right here. Feel free to peruse their site, they have a lot of good recipes.

But then come back and read my post, because I have hilarious, one-of-a-kind commentary 🙂

Here’s what you’re going to need:

Ingredients:
–½ cup granulated sugar
–½ cup dark brown sugar
–½ cup canola/vegetable oil
–1 ½ cups pumpkin puree
–1 egg
–½ tsp vanilla extract
–1 ½ cups flour
–1 tbsp cinnamon
–½ tsp baking powder
–½ tsp baking soda
–½ tsp salt
–½ tsp ginger
–¼ tsp nutmeg
Equipment:
Large mixing bowl
Whisk
Measuring cups/spoons
Baking sheet
Parchment paper
Spatula
Let’s get right down to it!
First you want preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Otherwise when you go to put your cookies in the oven, the oven will be cold and you’ll have to wait for it to heat up. In that time you could consume all of your batter, because it will be irresistible and you are impatient.
Or is that just me?
Okay, for real now. Dump the granulated sugar, dark brown sugar and oil in your mixing bowl. Unless you’re like me, who forgot that this recipe called for dark brown sugar and in turn forgot to purchase it when she picked up the pumpkin. But don’t worry, I checked with my baking friend Julie, who confirmed with the internets that using light brown sugar wouldn’t change the consistency of the cookies. Dark brown sugar just has a higher molasses content, so the flavor is a little richer.
Don’t you feel smarter now that you know the difference between light and dark brown sugar? You’re welcome.
I also just realized looking at my ingredients photo that my vegetable oil is past its ‘best by’ date. Hm. I didn’t even think to look at that with oil… But don’t worry, I’ve already eaten 4 cookies and some dough and I feel just peachy.
When you’re done mixing, it should look like this:
Not very appetizing, right? Don’t worry, we’re adding the pumpkin next.
Pumpkin, glorious pumpkin!! Now, for those of you who know that 8 ounces is a cup, a cup and a half is 12 ounces. Yay math! Therefore the 15 ounce can is just a little bit too much. Sad face. Normally I say the more pumpkin the better, but baking is chemistry, and you don’t want to screw with the wet/dry proportions. So you can do what I did, and put the remaining 3 ounces in a container in the fridge for pumpkin pancakes. Or you can toss it. Your call.
So, one of the reasons I am so obsessed with pumpkin is that I’ve been around it my entire life. A large chunk of my family lived in a town that was home to the largest (or one of the largest) Libby’s canning factories in America. Every fall they have “Pumpkin Fest” where you can get anything and everything pumpkin. It’s amazing. Having family that lives there also means you inherit awesome pumpkin measuring devices, like this one. You pull the yellow thing down to the appropriate measurement, spatula the pumpkin (or crisco or other semi-solid) into the cup, and then push the yellow thing up to empty it into your bowl. Voila!
If you’re not like me, with a pumpkin measuring inheritance, you can just spatula it into a regular measuring cup. But where’s the fun in that?
Once you mix the pumpkin in, it will start to look more edible. Kind of. Alright, it still just looks like orange goop. But we’re getting there.
Throw in your egg and vanilla. Whisk it again.
It’s going to be fluffy and smooth now. Eggs are really quite magical. Still really orange though…
Now begins the addition of the dry ingredients. The original instructions say to mix them together beforehand in another bowl and slowly add them. But I don’t roll that way. I’m a rebel, I do what I want.
Really I’m just lazy and don’t want to needlessly wash another bowl, but let’s just say I’m a rebel, k?
Instead of premixing them, I usually just add part of the flour and all of the other spices first. Then I gradually add the rest of the flour. Also, in the interest of full disclosure, I put in 1/2 tsp of nutmeg instead of 1/4 tsp. In my mind, you really can’t have too much nutmeg. I do this with my oatmeal cookies, too. I think it’s why mine are so superior to other oatmeal cookies. Mmmm. Nutmeg.
Warning: this batter is going to smell really good. Like really really REALLY good. Try to refrain from sticking your whole face in there in an attempt to fully absorb the sweet, spicy aroma.
But if you do, leave it on for a few minutes. Pumpkin is full of vitamins and it will probably do nice things for your skin.
I apologize for the blurriness of this picture. It was 11pm and I had to be my own photographer. I also didn’t realize it was blurry when I took it. Oops.
Anyway, now is the time to scoop your batter onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. If you don’t have parchment paper, don’t freak out. You can spray some Pam on your cookie sheet and plop them right on there. I’ve done it before in a pinch. But they are really sticky, so I highly recommend the parchment paper. It will also make for much easier cleanup. Your future self will be very appreciative.
I use my tablespoon measuring spoon to plop. I’ll scoop a heaping spoonful of batter, and it’s the perfect size for a cookie. And again, I don’t have to wash something extra 🙂
Unlike other cookies, these aren’t going to expand too much in the oven, so they can be pretty close together. Still, give them a little room to breathe. People (and cookies) need their space.
Bake them for 10-15 minutes. Usually 12 minutes will do the trick, but it was pretty humid here last night. I think it affected the baking time, because I had to cook these suckers for 16 minutes. How rude, humidity.
You’ll know they’re done when they start getting little cracks in the top, but they don’t need cracks in the top to be done. If you tap them lightly with your finger, they should feel stiff, but still soft. That’s what I love about these cookies. The texture is more like cake or pumpkin bread, but they’re in a convenient little bite size. Though to be fair, I love everything about these cookies.
This is another place where the parchment paper comes in handy. I picked up the paper and slid it over onto the cooling rack. Then I waited a few minutes, and the cookies had cooled down enough for me to just pick them up and put them directly on the cooling rack. I may or may not have eaten two during the transfer. Okay, three. Shh.
Then I waited until morning to take pictures of them, because it was kind of late and I wanted them to look as delicious as possible. Look how cakey and yummy they are! The morning light makes them look even more appetizing than they already did. And yes, I ate that one I broke in half. Photographic hazard.
You should make these cookies. Like, now. Because they are delicious, and they taste like sunshine and autumn and dreams. Plus they have pumpkin instead of butter, so I don’t feel bad about eating them, and neither should you 🙂
8 thoughts on “Soft Pumpkin Cookies

  1. I’ve had pumpkin on the brain all week, and was planning on picking some up tonight when I go grocery shopping. I’ve only attempted pumpkin muffins before, but will be giving these ones a shot. Like your ingredient list btw…I always like it when there are no wacky ingredients involved, and I have most on hand already!

    Like

    1. You should definitely try them, they are super easy. And I like the ingredients list too! It’s always nice to find a recipe that you don’t have to buy a bunch of random stuff for.

      Like

What do you think?

