Confessions of a Concealaholic

Benefit “Confessions of a Concealaholic” $36
1) Boi-ing industrial strength concealer in Light and Medium 2) Erase Paste in medium 3) Eye Bright 4) Lemon-Aid 5) “That Gal” Brightening primer 6) two dual-ended brushes

I realized yesterday that it’s been a painstakingly long time since I did a beauty post. But fret not, because this is a good one. Well, the product is a good one. I can’t guarantee anything about the post 🙂

Concealer is a very tricky thing. You need to find something that matches your skin tone, doesn’t cake off or wear off during the day, doesn’t dry out your skin and doesn’t add to breakout problems. Tall order, right? I had been steadily becoming disenchanted with the staying power of my previous go-to concealer (Neutrogena  3-in-one concealer for eyes). It looked great when I put it on in the morning, but if I didn’t touch up throughout the day, it got cakey or wore off. I’ve been upgrading my makeup basics in the past year (one of the perks of having a steady and comfortable income) and finally decided that it was time to upgrade my concealer.

Because I’m weird, I started off my search by spending an embarrassingly long time on the Sephora website reading customer reviews.

Much like every other outlet where people voice their opinions, most reviewers were either incredibly amazed or sorely disappointed by each product. It was like weeding through a jungle of hyperbole and lipstick. Needless to say, my indecisiveness is what kept me reading for the previously mentioned ’embarrassing’ length of time… let’s call it an hour (but it was probably more like 3…)

When I finally settled on the Benefit Boi-ing concealer in Medium, I was very confident in my decision. I strolled into that Sephora, head held high and bee-lined it straight for the display. Guess what they were out of? Benefit Boi-ing concealer in Medium. Balls. I tried the other shades, but they were either too light or too dark. So I did what any girl in that situation would do.

I went home and ordered my preferred shade online. Wait, that means I would have to pay for shipping, and that’s dumb. Plus I’d have to wait for it to be shipped to me. I don’t like waiting.

I asked when they were re-stocking so I could come back when they had my shade. Again, waiting. Not my forte.

I went to one of the department stores in the mall to see if they had my shade in stock. Nope. I’m too lazy for that.

I saw the ‘Confessions of a Concealaholic’ kit that happened to contain the correct shade of Boi-ing, plus a few other fun concealing/brightening products for me to try for only $16 more! Yep. That one’s me. 

While many women, and all men (including the Hubbster) would think that a silly move on my part, I’m so glad I made it, for several reasons: 1) The Erase Paste is awesome under my eyes. It covers like nothing I’ve ever used before 2) The product I thought I’d never use, the Lemon Aid, I use every day. It evens out the color on my eyelids so well that I’ve basically stopped wearing eye shadow 3) Those little concealer brushes are gems. I’ve never used a brush to apply concealer before, but now, I’ll never go back to those dark, pre-brush days 4) I was almost out of primer anyway.

Bottom line: If you’re feeling disappointed in your concealing kit as of late, splurge and pick this baby up. It’s good stuff, so a little goes a long way (i.e. you won’t have to replenish it with your hard-earned money in a too-short time). I promise, you won’t be disappointed–and you won’t have to weed through all of the reviews on Sephora!

You’re welcome.

5 thoughts on “Confessions of a Concealaholic

  1. You got it for $16? Wow! I just saw it for $36. Great deal. I really liked this blog because I am dire need of concealer. I noticed how bad the dark circles are under my eyes. Thanks for the info! 🙂

    Like

      1. OK…I was impressed by some shopping skills, too! But I did see some on Ebay I may be buying. Thanks for the heads up on this. Funny how I had a long conversation in my head about concealer the other day and then this….coincidence? I don’t think so! 🙂

        Like

What do you think?

