Coffee of the Day

grande mocha cookie crumble frappuccino… affogato

I’m not sure if I’ve ever talked about getting something “affogato” before. It’s something that I kind of forgot about since my time behind the Starbucks counter. But no worries, I have recently remembered/re-discovered it, and am making up for lost time.

I got this drink yesterday too, but I didn’t properly enjoy it. Here’s the (kind of) brief version why: 1) I don’t know if you heard, but there was this giant storm in the DC area on Friday night. I didn’t even know it was going to rain, let alone storm like that, but it’s left a lot of the area without power for 4 days now. And even though the power in our office was on yesterday, that was the only thing that worked. No email, no internet, no phones, no nothing. So I was doing most of my job with my iPhone and stressing out all day, and 2) my usual Starbucks was having HVAC issues, so I had to walk a few extra blocks up a hill to the other nearby store, and it of course wasn’t as good as when Alex makes my drinks.

So I decided on a do-over today. Good call on my part.

I should also mention that because Alex is awesome, he actually bumped into us yesterday when we found out the normal locale was closed. He apologized profusely (because he has so much control over the air conditioning), walked with us up the hill, and paid for our drinks. Alex, I heart you. Seriously. Never leave me.

Anyway, back to the affogato.

Affogato is when they pour a shot of espresso over the top of a drink. Have you ever watched them make a caramel macchiato, where they steam the milk first, and then pull the shots on top? It’s kind of like that. I like to do it with frappuccinos. They make the frap, pour it into the cup, pull a shot, and then pour it on top so it seeps down into it and stirs up all sorts of deliciousness. Mmmmm.

I got mine affogato in addition to the coffee that’s already in there. But if you want a little less coffee, try doing it over a vanilla bean frappuccino. Yummy!

What do you think?

