New Lipstick & Cowboy Boots

Beautiful lip color for a beautiful day!

I got a lovely new tube of lipstick the other day and I am super in love. The color is somewhere in between my deeper red and my super bright coral that’s basically just orange and that I only wear in the summer because it’s just that bright. But this one is a happy medium. It’s sunny and gorgeous outside, so I decided that it deserved an awesome red lip-yellow cardigan combo. It’s a very sunshine-appropriate combo if I do say so myself.

And I decided to throw my cowboy boots in there just for funsies. Because, well, they’re adorable. I originally bought them at a vintage clothing store for a barn dance in college. That’s what you do when you go to school in central Illinois. You’re surrounded by cornfields on all sides, so what do you do to get “off campus”? You rent out a barn, wear flannel, get drunk and then climb up on a table, sing all the lyrics to ‘Love Story’ by Taylor Swift and yell “This song is about me!” at the top of your lungs. I won’t reveal who did that, but I might be married to them. Love you, Hubbster. In his defense, he yelled that as a reference to the ‘Woo Girls’ episode of How I Met Your Mother. But everybody was too drunk to realize that, so they all just thought he really liked Taylor Swift. And let’s be serious, who doesn’t? Silly people, that’s who. I heart Tay-tay. And my cowboy boots, which are so damn cute that I even wear them on non-barn-related occasions. Aka all the time.

Photo credit to Lindsey, who has redeemed herself for making me sick.

So here’s what you need to achieve this lipstick look. Start with bare, moisturized lips. Line and fill in lips with the liner. Apply a coat of lipstick, blot with a tissue, and apply a second coat. This lipstick is so moisturizing, and has a gentle sheen to it so it almost looks like you have a light gloss over it. I am so obsessed. I might have to get it in a third color. I’m thinking a berry this time…

Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter in Candy Apple $6.49 at Target
Sephora Collection Nano Lip Liner in Real Red $5.00 at Sephora
6 thoughts on “New Lipstick & Cowboy Boots

What do you think?

