Coffee of the Day

doppio espresso macchiato and a grande refresh tea

So, it has officially been determined: My illness on Thursday night was definitely a bug, because 4 other people in my office have had it in the past week now. Lindsey, the initial carrier, will be swiftly and justly punished.

My tummy’s still a touch sensitive, so I didn’t think getting something filled with dairy and sugar would be the greatest idea in the world (just like those peeps yesterday were not the greatest idea in the world, and I had to find out the hard way). But I haven’t had coffee since Thursday morning, so I really needed a kick. The baristas were baffled when I got an espresso macchiato (espresso with foam on top) with no sugar or whipped cream or anything. It was hard, but I went the sugar-less-and-minimal-dairy route. And I got some tea, because well, tea is always nice when you have an upset tummy.

After 3-caffeine-less days I cannot describe how delicious this macchiato tastes. Though I have never smoked a cigarette, I would imagine that it feels like that first cigarette in the morning. I know, I’m such a square, I’ve never smoked a cigarette. I don’t care, they’re gross and they smell. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to dance around my desk to the Backstreet Boys while my Pandora judges me.

10 thoughts on “Coffee of the Day

  1. I recently quit smoking after about seven years off and on. I had a cig the other day that reminded me why smoking cigarettes is so wonderful (the stimulation, the lightheadedness, the taste of fine tobacco). That said; caffeine has always been a much stronger addiction for me. I can go months without smoking to no ill effect; but I have to schedule doses of caffeine a few times a day to make sure I don’t turn into a shivering, pallid invalid…

    Like

    1. Haha yeah, that’s why I’ve been firm on never to try one!! And I’m sorry your body reacts so harshly to lack of caffeine. Though having a constant intake of coffee doesn’t sound like a bad thing to me.

      Like

      1. Yea, I tried to wean myself off a few years back and wound up falling asleep at my desk a whole lot so I got back in the game. Constant intake of coffee would be nice but I am no good at making coffee and never wake up early enough to buy it. I rotate between the various caffeinated Vitamin Waters and the occasional awful office coffee. And sometimes on lucky but rare occasions I’ll hit up DD for coffee or Starbucks for an espresso drink.

        Like

      2. I’ve never gotten into iced coffee for some reason. I’ve always taken mine warm dark and bitter because I’m super narcistic. But the Vietnamese iced coffee looks really good so I may have to try that.

        Like

What do you think?

