I feel like my Pandora is judging me when it plays NSync…

I was a blossoming tween when NSync and the Backstreet Boys, LFO, Britney, Christina and the Spice Girls were all dominating the airwaves. Sometimes it feels like a really long time ago. They didn’t even have the word “tween” back in the day. We were just annoying 12-year-olds. I’d like to think that we weren’t as annoying as the tweens are now, but I’m quite sure we were that annoying… Or worse.

I am obviously not a tween anymore. I’m a 24-year-old “grown-up” with a husband and a job and a 401k. But my tween heart will always have a special place for Lance, JC, Chris, Joey and Justin. Especially Justin. So hot.

My job is one where I’m able to listen to music all day, which is awesome, because I detest silence. It makes me sad and makes the day go by super slowly, neither of which is cool with me. So I got a Pandora subscription–it’s pretty cheap, and well worth it in my opinion since I listen to it roughly 40 hours a week. I usually play a station I have dubbed “A little bit of everything” and it really is. It’s got seeds from Eminem, to Taylor Swift, to random a capella groups, Vitamin String Quartet, Disney soundtracks, Dave Matthews Band, She & Him, Fleetwood Mac, Blink 182, Linkin Park, my recent obsession Mumford & Sons, and my favorite late 90s/early 2000s guilty pleasures. I like this station because if I’m really not in the mood for a certain genre, I can just skip that cluster of songs until it lands on a vibe that works for me. Guess what I never skip? Boy bands. And I feel like Pandora judges me for it. It gives me 83 other options before finally playing the NSync that we both know I’m really looking for. Sneaky little bitch. I feel like if Pandora had a brain, it would be saying this while I click through song after song:

“Feeling some Country? How about Jake Owen? Really, no? You’re not feeling that? Ok, how about some Linkin Park? Seriously? You always love Linkin Park… Ooh, I got it, some Frankie Valli! No? Are you kidding me? You’re skipping “Big Girls Don’t Cry”?! Fine. I give up. Just listen to NSync, be a complete child. What do I care.”

Screw you, Pandora! I’ll listen to what I want! And I want NSYNC!

9 thoughts on “I feel like my Pandora is judging me when it plays NSync…

      1. I got a venti ice vanilla latte with skim milk and sugar free syrup. It was absolutely fantastic, I haven’t been to Starbucks since July or August. Gasp I know!

        Like

  1. i was a crazy backstreet and westlife fan 🙂

    “My job is one where I’m able to listen to music all day, which is awesome, because I detest silence. It makes me sad and makes the day go by super slowly, neither of which is cool with me.” totally describes me … my job is silent boring thing but my headphones keep me alive

    Like

What do you think?

