Is B.B. Cream all it’s cracked up to be? My face is undecided…

The Asian phenomenon has finally hit American drug stores. Is it as good as everyone says?

So here’s a thing about me: I am incredibly susceptible to advertising. I try sooo many products, be it shampoo, leave-in conditioner, mascara, facial scrub, nail polish, what have you. Combine watching way too much TV with being on the Sephora mailing list, and some would say that I have a problem. Some being the Hubbster and my sister Emma (though she only says it because I get her hooked on products that she can’t afford on her college budget. Sorry, Em). So when Sephora started circulating information about B.B. Creams, I became very intrigued. Is it a primer? A moisturizer? A tint? Chock full of vitamins? How about all of the above?! Sephora informed me that the all-in-one product had been sweeping the Asian beauty landscape, and quickly being coveted by professionals over here in the good ole U-S-of-A as their new do-everything secret. Naturally, I needed to get my hands on it. 

I went to the Sephora website and spent a solid hour reading reviews for the small bunch of B.B. Creams that they have. The plan was to go to the store in the mall on my way home to test them out and make the final decision on which one I wanted. When I arrived, I found that they only had one in-store. After all my research, I was a little perturbed. But it was the Smashbox version, and I love their primer. So I decided to at least give it a try while I was there. Just as the reviews had told me, the difference between the “light” and “medium” was ridiculous. The light looked ghostly on my skin, and the medium was way too dark. I was super frustrated, because I didn’t want to order another brand online and spend upwards of $30 on something I didn’t get to try out first. Slightly depressed, I grabbed a tube of primer and headed out the door.

Over the weekend I began seeing ads for a Garnier version and got really excited. I love their night cream, so when the Hubbster and I were grocery shopping on Monday night, I peeked into the generic beauty care aisle of the Giant to see if they had it. SUCCESS! I didn’t even realize there were 2 shade options, and I just grabbed the medium light. Luckily, the color is ridiculously perfect on my skin, and comes at the bargain price of $11.99! Seriously though, that is a bargain. It’s 2.5 oz, where most primers are somewhere around 1 oz or 1.5 oz. And if it moisturizes and makes my skin healthier at the same time, then it’s an extra extra bargain. I’ve been experimenting with it the last three mornings, and think I have a pretty good handle on it. Here’s my little daily journey (FYI for context: my skin is oily/combination, and a light/medium tan shade with olive undertones).

Day 1: I applied a little lotion before the BB Cream, because I was worried it wouldn’t be moisturizing enough, but I was wrong. After I blended in the BB Cream, it felt way too heavy on my skin. Though I was pleased with the visual results–my pores were smoothed out, and my skin tone was much more even. That’s what we were going for, right?

Day 2: I applied the BB Cream to my freshly cleansed skin, and blended it all over with my fingers for a minute. My skin felt fresh and moisturized and looked great, but it still felt a little bit heavy, and my skin looked a little dewy. This is dangerous, as my skin gets oily quickly (I usually whip out an oil-absorbing sheet around 2pm most days). I also noticed that when I applied my Bare Minerals foundation, the brush didn’t move as smoothly over my skin as with primer.

Day 3: I applied the BB Cream to my freshly cleansed skin again, but used a little bit less than I had on Day 2. I let it absorb into my skin for about 10 minutes, and then applied a little bit of primer, mostly on my cheeks and nose. My foundation went on much smoother, and it didn’t feel quite as heavy on my skin as it did on Day 2. Plus my skin looked flawless. So smooth and even, and my pores were invisible.

So here’s my final rundown: As with every new product, it will take a little while to figure out how to best use it with your regular skin and makeup routine. I like the way it evens out my skin tone, and in the summer it will undoubtedly be my go-to on ‘I’m-too-lazy-to-wear-foundation’ days. It’s packed with antioxidants and sun screen, so if you’re a ‘tinted moisturizer and out the door’ kind of gal, or if you only use foundation to even out your skin tone, or if you just need a sunscreen that packs a little extra punch, this is a definite must-buy. If you do the whole shebang every morning, you should know that it doesn’t fully replace primer (at least this brand doesn’t) if you want a really smooth canvas to work with. And if your skin is super oily, it may not do you any favors in the shine department.

Overall, I think it’s well worth a shot, and I’m going to continue to use it–at least for the foreseeable future. I’m easily swayed, remember? I’m sure there’s going to be a new product from Norway any day now that will become my new obsession!

Please excuse my hair. Humidity and I do not get along.
One thought on “Is B.B. Cream all it’s cracked up to be? My face is undecided…

  1. Thanks for filling us in on your BB adventure! I had been thinking about trying it, but any time I finally get the guts to try something that those commercial models make look fabulous I’m always disappointed. Nice to know a real person is seeing good results 🙂 I’m going to pick some up this weekend now!

    Like

What do you think?

