I Can’t Stop Listening to Mumford & Sons

Just as an added bonus, I love the cover art choices.

Oh Pandora. You are a fickle mistress. Sometimes I can’t get you to stop playing “Last Friday Night,” which (though I love it deeply), gets a little old the fifth time in an 8-hour period. Unless I continually update your variety, I end up listening to the same songs over and over again for a week until I decide to create a new station or just listen to my iPod. But once in awhile, you get things really, really right. Like the time you played an a capella version of “Eye 2 Eye,” the ridiculously awesome hit from ‘A Goofy Movie’ that I will love forever. Or when you played “Existentialism on Prom Night” by Straylight Run, one of my favorite songs in high school that I had inevitably forgotten about for roughly five to six years. And then, there was the day when you played Mumford & Sons.

It was a drizzly Tuesday…

Haha just kidding, I don’t remember the exact day or the meteorological conditions, and I definitely stole that phrase from a re-run of ‘Big Bang Theory’ I saw last night. But I felt like it went well there.

It was a day just like any other… there, that’s better. 

Most of the time I have the music on for background noise, because there’s lots of junk floating around in the old noggin, and silence drives me crazy. But every once in awhile something will catch my ear, and I will actually have time to click over to my Pandora tab and hit the ‘like’ button. I went to do this one day and realized that I had already ‘liked’ it. It was “The Cave” by Mumford & Sons. A few days later, the same thing happened with “Little Lion Man.” After two weeks of trying to ‘like’ songs that I’ve already ‘liked’ and realizing that they are Mumford & Sons, I finally broke down and bought Sigh No More, the album that most of them came from. There’s something about the banjo fueling the rhythm that just speaks to my soul. It’s both upbeat and calming, two things that don’t often go together musically.  And I have to tell you…

I can’t stop listening to it.

Seriously. I’ve had the album on repeat, and this is the third time I’ve listened to it today. I can’t get enough. I think I need more.  Since they shut down LimeWire (touche, iTunes) and I actually have to pay for my music, I’ve been much more selective. But I really think they deserve a second album purchase. Gotta love a banjo, right?

10 thoughts on “I Can’t Stop Listening to Mumford & Sons

  1. Hurray for legitimate purchases!

    The banjo definitely does sound nice! I wasn’t sure whether I’d regret putting Adrienne Pierce on pause to listen to a band called Mumford & Sons, but yeah it was worth the short break.

    Like

What do you think?

