Coffee of the Day

iced triple grande skim white mocha

My coffee was free today!! Yayyyy free drink coupon! Let’s ignore the fact that I bought 15 drinks in order to get the free one, and focus on the fact that this one was free, shall we? Kasandra wasn’t very chipper today, which made me sad. Feel better, Kasandra! My drink is very yummy!

Do you know what today is? Today is Pi Day! When I was in high school, you could get extra credit in your math class for memorizing digits of pi and reciting them at a special thing on Pi Day. I never did it. I didn’t need the extra credit. I threw off a curve once 🙂 I know, you’re all so impressed. My sister Emma did it her senior year, though. She didn’t need the extra credit either. She just wanted to prove she could do it. I think she got up to 300 digits? Or maybe it was just 100? It was 4 years ago and I wasn’t even there, so my memory’s a little fuzzy on the exact total. Even if it was only 100, that’s still impressive. Want to know the trick? She memorized them in groups of 9 digits, like phone numbers. Clever, clever girl.

I had such an awesome evening yesterday. After kickboxing (and not getting in a car accident), the Hubbster and I went on the roof for some beers with Ally & Jeremy. It was still in the upper 60s (if not low 70s) at 10pm, and the view from our roof is gorgeous. We live in Northern Virginia, and we can see basically all of DC from the rooftop. I love the city, especially at night when it’s all lit up. There’s something really romantic about it. That’s one of the many reasons we got married where we did–a restaurant attached to a boat harbor on the Potomac, across the river from DC, and with a beautiful view, called Indigo Landing. They have great food too, you should eat there if you’re in the area.

I wish I could spend all day outside. This whole “being a grown-up and having a job” thing really blows sometimes.

6 thoughts on “Coffee of the Day

  1. Um, 100 digits of pi? That is incredible. I think she should have received a piece of pie for every 9 digits she memorized. I can’t do the math, but I think that would have been a lot of pie. Depending on how you cut it.

    You know you would have paid money for that 16th cuppa, so it IS special that it was free.

    I had another iced caramel latte this morning. I think you are a $4 bad influence on me. 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

