Grandma Marion’s Oatmeal Cookies

The cookie that will always make me feel like a kid and think of my grandmother.

As I explained earlier today, I have very fond memories of my grandma’s oatmeal cookies. I really had a hankering for them today, and decided that I should share the awesomeness of this recipe with all of you. You can thank me later.

Here’s what you’ll need:

2 sticks butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
6 tbsp milk
¾ tsp baking soda
2 cups flour
1 tsp cinnamon
1 heaping tsp nutmeg
½ tsp cloves
½ tsp salt
2 cups oatmeal (quick oats)

You probably have most of this in your pantry. Except maybe the cloves. Cloves are kind of an odd spice. You’ll want to have them though, because these cookies are delicious and you’ll want to make them again. I recommend this stuff from Target.

I love the bottle. Like, I’m obsessed and want to buy all new spices just so I can have these bottles. Hm. I think I might be weird…

Okay. The first thing you want to do is leave your butter out on the counter for a few hours to soften it. Or you can roll like me, and stick it in the microwave on defrost for about 30 seconds. I have a carefully honed butter-softening recipe. I won’t tell you though, because my microwave is probably different and it could go awry in yours. You should experiment. If it’s a little bit melted it’s fine, but if it’s all melted then you need to start over. Sorry. Oops, I almost forgot. Pre-heat your oven to 350-degrees so you don’t have to wait for it to heat up after your batter’s done. Then you want to cream the butter (i.e. mix it around so it isn’t a stick anymore) and mix in the granulated sugar.

This is creamed butter. I know. You’re impressed.
This is what it will look like after you mix in the sugar. Slightly different.

Then you want to beat in the eggs.

This is me cracking an egg with one hand. Because I am a bamf. It’s kind of blurry because I had to take it with my left hand. Still. Very bamf-like.
It’s going to be fluffy now, because that’s what happens to things when you add eggs. They get all fluffy. I know, you’re learning so much!

Then you are going to dissolve the baking soda in the milk. The original recipe calls for sour milk. I’m not exactly sure what that means. Does it mean milk that’s gone bad? Because that doesn’t seem like a very good idea. Is there such a thing as non-rotten sour milk? These are things to contemplate. I just use regular milk, and the cookies taste delicious.

We were actually out of milk today, so the Hubbster graciously went and picked some up. They only had 1%. I’m still not really sure how I feel about it. I’m a skim milk girl.
Pouring while balancing the phone in my left hand. Skills.
It’s going to look kind of lumpy after you mix in the milk. Don’t worry, it’s supposed to. It will smooth out. I promise.

It’s dry ingredients time. The recipe says to sift all of the dry ingredients together. But I’m a busy woman, I don’t have time to sift. Plus I don’t have a sifter. Sad. Good suggestion for an anniversary gift! Also, be sure to put in a heaping teaspoon of nutmeg. Basically 1 1/2 teaspoons. Or 2. Basically a lot of nutmeg is what I’m saying here.

I usually do this in two batches when I’m not sifting (which is basically always. Don’t worry, they still taste good. I honestly can’t tell the difference when I actually sift it). First I throw in the first cup of flour and all the spices. Then mix. Then the second cup of flour, then mix again.

And now it’s oatmeal time! Make sure you get the quick oats. My entire junior year of college (the first time I was in an apartment and not a dorm) I made them with regular oats. They still tasted good, but they would spread out all over the pan. Learn from my f-ups, and get the quick oats.

This makes the cookies healthy. See? There’s a heart thing on it and everything!

In my completely unbiased and expert opinion, this is the best cookie dough ever. Seriously. It should be in the Louvre.

I have a trick to making the cookies in cookie form on the baking sheet. It’s a two-spoon trick. Or someone could get me a cookie dough scoop from Crate & Barrel. Nah, the spoons work just fine. Actually this is probably my mom’s trick, but I’m going to pass it off as my own. You scoop up some dough on one spoon, and then round it and scrape it off with the other. Like so:

1) Scoop dough onto first spoon. 2) Push dough down onto cookie sheet with second spoon. 3) Push dough off of second spoon with first spoon, and you have a perfectly shaped dollup!

They will look like this when you’re done.

Mine are a little close together. Oops. I’m such a bad judge at how many I can fit on there. Oh well. They will still taste good, but you should spread yours out more.

Bake for about 15 minutes in the upper middle rack of the oven. The edges should be a little bit brown, but not too dark. Then put them on a cooling rack, and bake the rest of them! Though here is the most important step: spoon, scrape and lick the bowl clean.

Seriously. Best. Cookies. Ever. Mmmmmmmmmmm.

Here are some text instructions in case you can’t follow all of my craziness 🙂

Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients:
1 cup (2 sticks butter), softened to room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
6 tbsp milk
3/4 tsp baking soda
2 cups flour
1 tsp cinnamon
1-2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp cloves
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups oatmeal (quick oats)
 
Instructions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
2. Cream together the butter and sugar in a large bowl
3. Beat in eggs
4. In a small dish, dissolve the baking soda in the milk. Beat that into the egg, butter and sugar mixture. The batter should be slightly soupy and lumpy at this point
5. Slowly mix in flour and spices (you can sift the dry ingredients first if you have a sifter, but that is optional)
6. Mix in oatmeal
7. Place small-medium dollups on cookie sheet and bake about 15 minutes until edges are browned
 

Happy baking!! ❤

7 thoughts on “Grandma Marion’s Oatmeal Cookies

What do you think?

