Coffee & Breakfast of the Saturday

triple espresso con panna with 1 pump white mocha

So yesterday, the Hubbster and I were having breakfast/brunch with Ally & Jeremy. I had decided on Friday that I really wanted bacon for breakfast. Upon mentioning this to Ally, it of course turned into a big foursome breakfast, because that’s how we roll. So, the Hubbster and I woke up, showered, went to Bed Bath & Beyond to return that pillow (finally), popped into the Harris Teeter next door to get bacon, and then of course had to stop in Starbuck’s on our way back to the apartment. Even I don’t go to the Starbuck’s across the street very often, when the girl handed me my con panna she said “Wow, that’s a weird drink for you.” I can’t help it if I’m famous.

This brings me to the bacon portion of the morning. Oh glory, the bacon.

yummyyyyyyyy

Ally and Jeremy knocked on the door really loudly. You may or may not have been able to smell the bacon all the way by the elevators. We are pretty far down the hall. I can still kind of smell it. I wish my apartment always smelled like bacon. It’s just soooooo good.

Ally brought some fruit and fresh cinnamon whipped cream, which went lovely over the waffles I made. Waffles are the Hubbster’s fave. I actually got him a waffle iron for his high school graduation present (remember, we are those weird people who dated in high school and got married when we were 23. I swear it’s not weird, though. I just really love him. And I’m a catch, so he had to lock me down early). But since he went to a dorm and then to a disgusting house filled with boys, it lived at his parents house during college, where his dad became quite the waffle connoisseur. Wow, that’s a big word for a Sunday morning. Oh crap, it’s after noon. I don’t care that I just woke up though, because I’m sick. So you all can quit judging.

Where was I? Oh yeah. Hubbster’s dad had custody of the waffle iron during college, but when we were “grown ups” and moved across the country, we took it back. Don’t worry about Carl though, he got a nice new waffle iron and still waffles it away on the weekends. Hi, Carl! He reads my blog because he is an awesome father-in-law.

I have the best pancake/waffle recipe in the history of mankind. Seriously. Once you try it, you will understand. It has melted butter in it. That’s what makes it so good. I eat them dry, with no extras on top most of the time. Unless I have fruit. Fruit and pancakes/waffles is really a grand combination. I found the recipe on Allrecipes.com in college. We really wanted pancakes one morning, but had no mix. I liked to bake a lot (because boys really appreciate it when you bring over a tupperware full of brownies) and so I figured I had enough ingredients to make it from scratch, and just googled “pancake recipes.” I have never been able to find this again, so if you are the one who posted it on AllReipes, thank you, from the bottom of my heart.

Here is my recipe for pancake/waffle awesomeness. Please enjoy, and tell your friends!

PANCAKES!

What you’ll need:

1 1/2 cups flour
3 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 tbsp granulated sugar
1-1 1/4 cup milk
1 egg
3 tbsp melted butter
1. Mix together the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar in a medium or large bowl. If you use a small bowl, it will not be big enough. I feel like Goldilocks.
2. Make a well in the center of dry mixture, aka take your measuring cup and kind of push all of the dry ingredients up the sides of the bowl a little, so the wet ingredients will form kind of a pool in the middle of all the dry ingredients. I hope that made sense.
3. Melt the butter in a small bowl or container. I use these small glass prep bowls from Sur La Table. My mommy got them for me for Christmas and I love them. They aren’t on the web site, but if you go into a store you will find them. Tell them I sent you. Wait, don’t tell them that, because if you are in like, New York, they won’t know who I am.
4. While the butter is melting, pour in the milk (a little over a cup, otherwise it’s too thick–you can always add more once all mixed) and egg. Once the butter is melted, throw that in too, and beat mixture with a whisk until smooth.
5. Your batter is done, so now it’s time to make pancakes like you normally would! I’m a fan of Mickey Mouse ears. Or writing your first initial backwards, and then putting a round over it so your initial is darker (and the correct direction) once you flip it. Mmmm.
Bon appetit!
7 thoughts on “Coffee & Breakfast of the Saturday

  1. You already make me want coffee, which I don’t drink. Please don’t make me want bacon and waffles too! Can’t you blog about green beans or something?

    Like

What do you think?

