Things You Learn Living With A Boy: Sports Decor Can Be Classy

This is one of my favorite things in our apartment.

That’s right, ladies. You don’t have to limit your man’s love of sports to the man cave/basement/den/space of your choice. This is a little project I had been wanting to do since we moved out to DC, but didn’t actually have the wall space or get around to it until we moved into our new (much bigger) apartment last summer.

The Hubbster had this calendar in college, and the top photos were reproductions of vintage Illinois game programs (we went to Illinois if you couldn’t guess that already). They were perforated on the bottom and designed to be removed from the calendar, so when the Hubbster cleaned out his room upon his departure from the house he and a few of our friends rented in college, he kept the 9 that he liked best. He didn’t really know why he kept them, he just thought they were cool. Luckily, he married me, and I knew exactly what I wanted to do with them the moment I saw them.

I went to Ikea, a.k.a. heaven for those who want to furnish their apartment but don’t want to spend $350 on a coffee table and don’t mind putting furniture together themselves (you should hear about the epic adventure that was assembling our dresser. 6 hours of sheer torture, but it’s so pretty!). I had measured out the calendar pages, and chose some frames in a corresponding size. These lovely 16″ x 20″ Ribba frames were the winners. I popped them all in, lined them all up on the wall and hung away! Here is a link to other vintage football calendars should you want to take on a similar project! (or if you just like vintage-y things, which I know I do.) You can also just use any type of sports photos/logos/what have you. Everything looks cohesive when organized like this!

But…before you do so, I should mention a few caveats. I really want you all to try it, but I need to tell you that it wasn’t quite as easy-peasy a project as I have made it out to be in the last paragraph. It’s not extraordinarily difficult, but you should know the following:

1) The size of the calendar pages didn’t exactly conform to the opening in the frame. Instead of going a custom frame route, or getting new mattes to put in the frames, I took easy street and very carefully put the picture in front of the matte, and used some scotch tape to secure it to the matte from the back (not putting any tape on the front of the matte in case of future necessity). You could also investigate alternate frame options. Or do a better job of measuring 🙂

2) If you get the Ribba frames, attaching the wire to hang them from the back is kind of time consuming. Just know that it will take you like an hour to do all nine.

3) Hanging them so they hang all in a row and lined up all nice and pretty is also time consuming. Again, allow an appropriate amount of time, and be patient.

Happy DIY-ing!!

❤

One thought on “Things You Learn Living With A Boy: Sports Decor Can Be Classy

  1. I learned this lesson with movie posters. Hubs wanted them, I wanted to have decent decor. Found a nice grey area for the whole thing with artfully done posters and nice framing. Love the sports stuff here, looks amazing – and gives me plenty of ideas.
    Boys sometimes have a few ok ideas, a few…

    Like

What do you think?

