Mad Men: Don’t Hate Me, but I’m Luke Warm About It…

It wins awards left and right, everyone says how awesome it is, and Netflix predicted I would give it 4 1/2 stars. So what's my problem?

I’ll tell you my problem. The guys are complete ass holes. I’ve watched 3 episodes so far. And yeah, Jon Hamm is sexy and really works those suits and ties and fedoras (I really wish that guys could wear those today without looking silly), but Don Draper is a huge tool. Frankly, all of the men are. I know it was a different time and most men were like that and yada yada yada, I’m really not a crazy feminist or something. I just don’t enjoy watching a bunch of men be ass holes for 45 minutes. I’m going to continue and try to give it a chance, so we’ll see how it goes. If you’ve never seen it, ignore this next part. This is my review so far:

As previously stated, this show is full of ass holes.

Why did Peggy (aka Zoey Bartlett, as I will always think of her) sleep with Pete Campbell, of all the options that she has there? He kind of looks like he’s ten. And I thought that other guy (who’s name I don’t know-the one who bought her a sandwich) was much nicer to her.

Don Draper’s pretty effed up. Also, Don Draper may not be his real name. I couldn’t tell if that guy on the train was mistaken in calling him another name, or if he had such a horrible experience in the war that he created a new identity or something. Since his wife hasn’t met his parents, I’m going to say there’s a pretty good chance that he wasn’t born Don Draper. I also think he actually does love his wife, but he’s still an ass to her. He frequently sleeps with that artist chick in the city. He missed the end of their daughter’s birthday party to get drunk in his car. And he called her shrink to give him a play by play of her session. Rude.

I’m pretty sure that Betty Draper has MS. Hand numbness is how Josiah Bartlett’s started, and I base everything in my life around West Wing. There’s also a good chance that in the early 60s they didn’t know what the eff  MS was. We’ll see…

One thought on “Mad Men: Don’t Hate Me, but I’m Luke Warm About It…

What do you think?

