Super Late to the Party: I Love Death Cab for Cutie

So, my husband (a.k.a. the U.S.S. Hubbster) has been out of town for work for the past week. I’ve missed him a lot and have had a lot of trouble falling asleep without him, so what’s a girl to do? Have a little quality time with the bestie sleep over party of course! The original plan was to watch “Now & Then,” some kind of mother-daughter/coming of age movie with Christina Ricci that I have apparently been silly for never seeing. But Target didn’t have it, so Ally picked up something else that is awesome: “Friends With Benefits”

Seriously, Justin Timberlake is too hot and talented. It's obnoxious and annoying.

If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it. It came out after “No Strings Attached,” so I think it got more of the copycat label, but I will take Justin over Ashton any day of the week. Plus this one is funnier, doesn’t take itself too seriously, and you see Justin’s butt. It’s nice. Also, between this and “Easy A,” Will Gluck is now my favorite rom-com director.

Anyhoo, what does this have to do with Death Cab? I’m glad you asked. Two scenes feature a song, and both time’s I’ve seen this movie I just go “I love this song.” Both the song and the voice sounded super familiar but I couldn’t place it. Thank goodness for Erin, who recognized it immediately after I sang a few bars. “That’s Death Cab, boo. I Will Follow You Into the Dark.” Of course it was!!!

For those of you who don’t know this, the lead singer of Death Cab for Cutie also had another band called the Postal Service, which was super amazing and that album is one of the most played on my iTunes. But even knowing that it had a similar feeling and the same lead vocals, I had never really sought it out. Until now. I may or may not have bought 3 albums last night (sorry, Hubbster) and been listening to them all day. You can now count me with the indie-obsessed Seth Cohens of the world. And yes, that was a reference to the OC character’s obsession with Death Cab. Don’t make fun, you know you watched it.

It won’t let me embed the actual music video, so just close your eyes and listen. I love this song.

What do you think?

